Whatsapp latest Update: About the New Disappearing messages feature

WhatsApp has recently introduced the highly anticipated messaging feature of all its users in India. After weeks of officially launching the much-anticipated 'Disappearing Messages' feature seven days before the message was automatically deleted, WhatsApp recently released an update for its Indian users. The Facebook-run messaging app previously announced that the feature is now official and will be released to its two billion users "this month." The 'Disappearing Messages' feature is found in individual and group discussions. However, in group discussions, only group managers will be able to enable disappearing messages in group chats. The feature is available on all WhatsApp supported devices including Android, iOS, and Linux-based iOS devices, as well as the WhatsApp Web and Desktop platform. 

Once you have enabled this feature, all messages sent by you will be deleted after seven days. . This applies to group and individual chats but in the case of group chats, only the administrator can enable or disable this feature. If this message disappears after seven days, its reply messages will still be displayed in the dialog box. This feature does not specify messages sent. Media files will also be deleted after seven days when the disappearing message feature is turned on. If you turn on the download option automatically, these media files can be found on your devices. About disappearing messages You can send disappearing messages on WhatsApp by enabling disappearing messages. 

If enabled, new messages posted in individual or group conversations will disappear after seven days. Recent choices control all messages in chat. This setting will not affect messages you previously sent or received in chat. In an individual conversation, a user can open or close missing messages. In group chat, only group administrators can open or close disappearing messages. 

How to enable WhatsApp Disappearing messages feature on Android and iOS smartphones:

Open the WhatsApp chat on your Android or iOS devices.

Tap the contact’s name.

Along with the contact's information, you will also find an option of Tap Disappearing messages, right above the "Encryption" of the messages option.

Once you have tapped on it, select on.

It will switch on the disappearing messages option for the particular chat.

How to switch off Disappearing Messages feature on Android and iOS devices:

Once disabled, messages sent in the chat will no longer disappear.

Open the WhatsApp chat.

Tap the contact’s name.

Tap Disappearing messages.

Select Off.

How to use WhatsApp disappearing messages on iOS:

Open the WhatsApp chat.

Press Options > View Contact > OK.

Select Disappearing Messages and press on Edit.

If prompted, press Next > OK. You then need to select On and then press on OK.

 

If the user does not turn on WhatsApp within seven days, the message will disappear. However, preview of the message may still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp opens. When you reply to a message, the first message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text may remain in the conversation after seven days. If the disappearing message is sent to chat while the messages are off, the message will not disappear from the chat conversation. If the user backs up before the message disappears, the disappearing message will be backed up. Disappearance of messages will be deleted when the user returns from the backup. 

Note: 

Use only disappearing messages with trusted people. For example, someone may have done this: Transfer or take a screenshot of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears. Copy and save the content to the disappearing message before it disappears. Take a picture of a disappearing message with a camera or other object before it disappear. 
Media in disappearing messages. By default, the media you receive on WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your photos. When disappearing messages are turned on, media sent to chat will disappear, but will be saved to the phone when the automatic download is on. You can turn off automatic download in WhatsApp settings> Storage and Data. 

 That's all! In the same way, you can enable this feature in the group by tapping on the name of the group provided that you are the administrator. You can disable this feature whenever you want by following the same path.

2 Comments

If you have any queries please let me know.

Post a Comment

If you have any queries please let me know.

Previous Post Next Post